Austin Civil War Round Table

Dan and Marilyn Laney Prize

Austin Civil War Round Table - Young Lincoln

The Daniel M. & Marilyn W. Laney Prize is awarded each year to the author of the book that best advances the knowledge of the Civil War's military or political events and the Americans who took part in those events. The prize amount is $2,000. Members of the Austin Civil War Round Table, and all other interested persons, are invited to contribute to the award fund.

The prize continues to honor Daniel M. & Marilyn W. Laney for their splendid efforts to protect the endangered battlefields of our Civil War. The prize money is directly attributable to the generosity of the Morse Foundation whose many labors on behalf of the Round Table and the preservation of our Civil War battlefields are gratefully acknowledged.

Each year a committee of Austin Civil War Round Table members publicizes the prize, solicits submissions, and selects the prize winner. The winning author is invited to appear as a speaker before the Austin Civil War Round Table.

Winners of the Dan and Marilyn Laney Prize

2022 -- Robert Elder for Calhoun: American Heretic

2021 -- H. W. Brands for The Zealot and the Emancipator

2020 -- Donald L. Miller for Vicksburg: Grant's Campaign That Broke the Confederacy

2019 -- A. Wilson Greene for A Campaign of Giants - The Battle for Petersburg: From the Crossing of the James to the Crater

2018 -- Gordon C. Rhea for On to Petersburg: Grant and Lee, June 4-15, 1864

2017 -- David A. Powell for The Chickamauga Campaign: Barren Victory

2016 -- Donald S. Frazier for Blood on the Bayou: Vicksburg, Port Hudson and the Trans-Mississippi

2015 -- S.C. Gwynne for Rebel Yell: The Violence, Passion, and Redemption of Stonewall Jackson

2014 -- Elizabeth Varon for Appomattox: Victory, Defeat, and Freedom

2013 -- Dennis Frye for September Suspense: Lincoln's Union in Peril

2012 -- Gary Gallagher for The Union War

2011 -- Ed Bearss and J. Parker Hills for Receding Tide: Vicksburg and Gettysburg

2010 -- Donald S. Frazier for Fire in the Cane Field

2009 -- Craig Symonds for Lincoln and His Admirals

2008 -- Nelson Lankford for Cry Havoc! The Crooked Road to Civil War, 1861

2007 -- Will Greene for Civil War Petersburg: Confederate City in the Crucible of War

2006 -- Jeffrey D. Wert for The Sword of Lincoln: The Army of the Potomac

2005 -- Edward T. Cotham for Sabine Pass: The Confederacy's Thermopylae

2004 -- Frank A. O'Reilly for The Fredericksburg Campaign: Winter War on the Rappahannock

2003 -- Gordon C. Rhea for Cold Harbor: Grant and Lee, May 26-June 3, 1864

2002 -- Richard B. McCaslin for Lee in the Shadow of Washington

2001 -- Richard McMurry for Atlanta 1864: Last Chance for the Confederacy

2000 -- Joseph L. Harsh for Taken at the Flood

1999 -- Jeffry Wert for A Brotherhood of Valor

1998 -- Gary Gallagher for The Confederate War

1997 -- William C. Davis for The Cause Lost

1996 -- Dan Sutherland for The Seasons of War


Membership and Sponsorship

Battlefield Preservation Efforts

Return to Austin Civil War Round Table Home Page